Language Acquisition

The role of language is valued as central to developing critical thinking, which is essential for the cultivation of intercultural awareness, international-mindedness and global citizenship. Language is integral to exploring and sustaining personal development and cultural identity, and provides an intellectual framework to support conceptual development. In MYP Language Acquisition, the purposes and targets for learning language are divided into three areas of communication: oral communication, visual communication, and written communication. The Language Acquisition objectives are designed to enable students to become multiliterate by developing all three areas.  


Students will move through a vertically aligned series of units at Westchester as they pursue understanding of this new language.

 

 Faculty Email Address   CMS
 Annalisa Capotorto  Annalisa.Capotorto@springbranchisd.com  
 Tamika Caston-Miller  Tamika.Caston-Miller@springbranchisd.com  ItsLearning
 Yuliana Gonzalez  Yuliana.GonzalezJohnson@springbranchisd.com  
 Jan Goodloe  Margaret.Goodloe@springbranchisd.com  
 Josh Hortman  Joshua.Hortman@springbranchisd.com  
 Daniela Minotti  Daniela.SalernoMinotti@springbranchisd.com  ManageBac
 Gabriela Baiardi Mack  Gabriela.BaiardiMack@springbranchisd.com  
 Marcela Monreal  Maria.Monreal@springbranchisd.com  
 Juergen Mueller  Juergen.Mueller@springbranchisd.com  
 Nelba Richardson  Nelba.Richardson@springbranchisd.com  
 Stanley Stifflemire  Stanley.Stifflemire@springbranchisd.com  

 


 

In the IB MYP, students are assessed on an 8-point scale across 4 criteria. The criteria of Language Acquisition are Comprehending Spoken & Visual Text, Comprehending Written & Visual Text, Communicating in Response to Spoken &/or Written &/or Visual Text, Using Language in Spoken &/or Written Form. We use a standardized chart to convert the 0-8 IB MYP grades into the percentage grades used by Spring Branch. For more information about Language Acquisition in the IB MYP, please see the Language Acquisition Subject Brief.