Sciences

MYP Science contributes to the development of students as inquirers, scientifically literate, caring, and responsible individuals who will think critically and creatively when solving problems and making decisions about aspects affecting themselves, others, and their social and nautral environments. Science and its methods of investigation offer a way of learning that contribute to analyitical and critical ways of thinking. Inquiry is at the heart of MYP sciences and aims to support students' understanding of sciences by providing them with opportunities to independently investigate relevant issues through both research and experimentation.

 

 Faculty Email Address   Class Content On
 Christina Carrizales  Christina.Carrizales@springbranchisd.com  
 Adriana Conejo   Adriana.ConejoMendoza@springbranchisd.com  
 Seda Dawson  Seda.Dawson@springbranchisd.com  
 Jessica Estrada  Jessica.Estrada@springbranchisd.com  
 Shelly Horne  Shelly.Horne@springbranchisd.com  
 Jim Isleib  James.Isleib@springbranchisd.com  
 Kim Montgomery  Kimberly.Montgomery@springbranchisd.com  
 Tom Moutoux  Thomas.Moutoux@springbranchisd.com  
 Mark Newkirk  Mark.Newkirk@springbranchisd.com  ManageBac
 Maryam Ogunkoya  Maryam.Ogunkoya@springbranchisd.com  
 Anya Schmidt  Anya.Schmidt@springbranchisd.com  
 Laura Sigworth  Laura.Sigworth@springbranchisd.com  
 Paul Skudder  Paul.Skudder@springbranchisd.com  
 Pradip Srivastava  Pradip.Srivastava@springbranchisd.com  

 

In the IB MYP, students are assessed on an 8-point scale across 4 criteria. In the Sciences, the criteria are Knowing & Understanding, Inquiring & Designing, Processing & Evaluating, and Reflecting on the Impacts of Science. We use a standardized chart to convert the 0-8 IB MYP grades into the percentage grades used by Spring Branch. For more information about Sciences in the IB MYP, please see the Sciences Subject Brief.