Mathematics

Mathematics plays an essential role both within the school and in society. It promotes a powerful universal language, analytical reasoning and problem solving skills that contribute to the development of logical, abstract and critical thinking. Mathematics is well known as a foundation for the study of sciences, engineering, technology, economics and other social sciences. Mathematics aims to equip all students with the knowledge, understanding and intellectual capabilities to address further courses in mathematics, as well as prepare those students who will use mathematics in their workplace and life in general.

 

 Faculty Email Address   Class Content On
 Shivani Agrawal  Shivani.Agrawal@springbranchisd.com  
 Maureen Andrews   Maureen.Fertitta-Andrews@springbranchisd.com  
 Kenneth Anisiobi  Kenneth.Anisiobi@springbranchisd.com  
 Anthony Carandang  Anthony.Carandang@springbranchisd.com  
 Vanya Dimitrova  Vanya.Dimitrova@springbranchisd.com  
 Robert Delaney  Robert.Delaney@springbranchisd.com  
 Alberto Halos  Alberto.Halos@springbranchisd.com  
 Kathy Oxspring  Mary.Oxspring@springbranchisd.com  
 Fernando Pierre  Fernanda.Pierre3@springbranchisd.com  
 Ellene Polidore  Ellene.Polidore@springbranchisd.com  
 Barbara Stephens  Barbara.Stephens@springbranchisd.com  
 Samantha Winkelman  Samantha.Winkelman@springbranchisd.com  

 

In the IB MYP, students are assessed on an 8-point scale across 4 criteria. The criteria for Mathematics are Knowing & Understanding, Investigating Patterns, Communicating, and Applying Mathematics in Real-life Contexts. We use a standardized chart to convert the 0-8 IB MYP grades into the percentage grades used by Spring Branch. For more information about Mathematics in the IB MYP, please see the Mathematics Subject Brief.