Language & Literature

Language and Literature is academically rigorous, and equips students with linguistic, analytical and communicative skills that can also be used in an interdisciplinary manner across all other subject groups. There are six skill areas: listening, speaking, reading, writing, viewing and presenting, which develop as both independent and interdependent skills. The aims are to encourage and enable students to use language as a vehicle for thought, creativity, reflection, learning, self expression and social interaction.


 Faculty Email Address   Class Content On
 John Adams   Jonathan.Adams@springbranchisd.com  
 Patty Carr  Patricia.Carr@springbranchisd.com   ManageBac
 Elizabeth Carwile   Elizabeth.Carwile@springbranchisd.com   Google Classroom
 Kelsey Cline  Kelsey.Cline@springbranchisd.com  
 Elizabeth Edison  Elizabeth.Edison@springbranchisd.com  
 Julie Labrie  Julie.Labrie@springbranchisd.com  
 Reagan McDonald  Reagan.Mcdonald@springbranchisd.com  
 Melanie Morrison  Melanie.Morrison@springbranchisd.com  
 Jackie Phillips  Jacquelyn.Phillips@springbranchisd.com   Google Classroom
 Tracy Price  Tracy.Price@springbranchisd.com   ManageBac
 Daniel Robison  Daniel.Robison@springbranchisd.com  
 Rachel Rose  Rachel.Rose@springbranchisd.com  
 Kristin Thompson  Kristin.Thompson@springbranchisd.com   ManageBac


In the IB MYP, students are assessed on an 8-point scale across 4 criteria. The criteria for Language & Literature are Analysing, Organizing, Producing Text, and Using Language. We use a standardized chart to convert the 0-8 IB MYP grades into the percentage grades used by Spring Branch. For more information about Language & Literature in the IB MYP, please see the Language & Literature Subject Brief.