Individuals & Societies

Individuals and Societies aims to encourage students to respect and understand the world around them, and to provide a skill base to facilitate further study. This is achieved through the study of individuals, societies and environments in a wide context: historical, contemporary, geographical, political, social, economic, religious, technological and cultural. Within the aims and objectives, students must develop skills to address concepts of time, place and space, change, systems, and global awareness, as well as a technical, analytical, decision-making and investigative skills.

 

 

 Faculty Email Address   Class Content On
 Emily Arnold  Emily.Arnold@springbranchisd.com   ItsLearning
 Patty Carr   Patricia.Carr@springbranchisd.com   ManageBac
 Molly Christie  Molly.Christie@springbranchisd.com  
 Kelsey Cline  Kelsey.Cline@springbranchisd.com  
 Valerie Harelson  Valerie.Harelson@springbranchisd.com  
 Angela Juarez  Angela.Juarez@springbranchisd.com  
 Julie Labrie  Julie.Labrie@springbranchisd.com  
 Aurelia Maldonado  Aurelia.Maldonado@springbranchisd.com  
 Kelsey Miller  Kelsey.Miller@springbranchisd.com  
 Melanie Morrison  Melanie.Morrison@springbranchisd.com  
 Rachel Rose  Rachel.Rose@springbranchisd.com  
 Sara Sebesta-Camano  Sara.Sebesta-Camano@springbranchisd.com  
 Kristin Thompson  Kristin.Thompson@springbranchisd.com  ManageBac

 

In the IB MYP, students are assessed on an 8-point scale across 4 criteria. The criteria of Individuals & Societies are Knowing & Understanding, Investigating, Communicating, and Thinking Critically. We use a standardized chart to convert the 0-8 IB MYP grades into the percentage grades used by Spring Branch. For more information about Individuals & Societies in the IB MYP, please see the Individuals & Societies Subject Brief.